Skip to content

My Disney Birthday Weekend- Part 1

February 28, 2011

My birthday and the expiration of our Disney passes were this past Saturday. I’m so sad that there will be no more WDW park trips for at least one if not two or more more years. My hubby (dh) told me back in Jan. that he borrowed some money from his boss to pay for my gift. He then sold his car stereo equipment (had planned on it anyway) to pay him back. He didn’t want anything showing up on our credit card statement where I would see it. So on Thursday morning he gave me my gifts early. He knew I’d need some time. I walked into the kitchen Thursday morning as usual to get the boys’ lunches together for school and saw some Disney mail sitting on the counter. I hadn’t seen it the night before so I picked it up, glanced at it and then put it back down. He was standing there too and when he saw me put it down he asked if I shouldn’t maybe look a bit closer at it. I picked it back up and then saw that it said Welcome ____ Family to Karlise’s Birthday Celebration. He had booked us a one night stay in the Ft Wilderness cabins at the Campgrounds!! Now we could stay and play all day at WDW and not have to drive the hour home. No wonder I needed to get the gift early. Spent the day Thursday and Friday doing laundry and getting everything I could together.

Saturday morning I finished the final packing and we set out. We had lunch ressies at the 50s Prime Time Cafe at DHS so we went to the Studios. I picked up my birthday button first. I like all the Happy Birthday wishes I get at Disney. Grabbed our fastpasses for a late afternoon ride on Toy Story Mania, went to watch MuppetVision 3D, had a quick snack and rode the Great Movie Ride all before our 11:35am reservation.

I was so excited to eat at 50s. Dh had me make the ADR (advanced dining reservation) last week. You walk in and you are in a different era. “Mom” is in the kitchen cooking and you usually have a “cousin” or big  “brother or sister” as your server. Sometimes you get your own “mom” and then watch out! Our cousin was our server this time and she was a lot of fun. You have to set your own table, no elbows on the table and don’t get caught with a cell phone! Sharing food is okay because, “Sharing is caring”. I started out with a REAL cherry coke using cherry syrup and dh got the famous PB&J milkshake. Oh Emm Gee. It was SO good. This is a real milkshake made with real ice cream the old fashioned way in the metal tumbler. It made 3+ big glasses worth and was perfect for sharing. I didn’t get the jelly part of it. To me it tasted like a Reeses Pieces. Nom nom. I totally forgot to get pics of the food. Bad DIS’er! Sorry. You’ll be able to see the empty glass later though. 😉

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We meant to start out with the onion rings for two as I’ve heard such good things but we forgot to order it. Oops. It’s probably a good thing because we were stuffed at the end. DH ordered the Uncle Dana’s Artichoke and Ricotta Agnolotti – Pearl Pasta with Roasted Zucchini and Crookneck Squash with spicy Tomato Broth. He said it was really good and he’d order it again.

I got Aunt Liz’s Golden Fried Chicken – served with mashed potatoes, chicken gravy and southern greens. Yum! Mom makes good fried chicken. I like greens so I didn’t substitute them and I made sure I finished them. My Cousin told me I was a very good girl for eating all my veggies. I didn’t want anyone playing airplane with my veggies (Here comes the airplane! Open up wide!) Dh ended up finishing Ian’s salad (all 3 got the salad, mac & chs and ice cream sundae) and our Cousin had some fun with him about being a bottomless pit. LOL

For dessert we decided to share Dad’s Brownie Sundae – Brownie with Vanilla Ice Cream, Hot Fudge, and Caramel topping. It also had M&Ms, whipped cream and caramel popcorn on top. I was so stuffed I only had a couple of bites. Our Cousin also brought out a birthday cupcake for me. She lit the candles and had the whole room sing to me (louder!! faster!!). It was fun! I couldn’t eat a bite so I asked her to please pack it up for me. She also got us some fresh mac & chs to take with us instead of the leftovers the kids didn’t eat.

DH forgot his regular glasses in the car. There were TV’s all around playing 50s shows.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Our Cousin wanted to know how we made a TV so small and in COLOR! Wow!

Photobucket

See those curtains. At one point our Cousin heard someone crying in the other room so she opened them up to see what all the commotion was about and leaned out to talk to them.

Photobucket

Yummy! Empty shake glass and Dad’s Brownie Sundae.

Photobucket

Bella’s hand and spoon trying to get to MY cupcake!

Photobucket

During our meal I was texting with a friend I’ve known online for a while (secretly texting, don’t tell Mom!). She met us outside the restaurant and we hung out for a few minutes and took pics together. I’ve known her for probably 8 years now as we both have Sept 2002 kids. It was so great to finally meet her and her family.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kay permalink
    February 28, 2011 9:17 pm

    You can do a whole scrapbook album of “me and September 2002 moms”!

    • February 28, 2011 9:48 pm

      I need to meet some more first!! So far I have Keela, Mandie, you, Lisa, Nicole C. and Traci I think.

Leave a Reply

