Skip to content

Disney Day

January 10, 2011

We spent the day at two Disney parks on Saturday. Our passes will expire soon and we are trying to get in as much Disney fun as possible. There are a few things we’ve never done/seen so we’re going to attempt to do them. We left here mid morning and headed to Animal Kingdom. Apparently my children are of the tech age as this is what I saw when I turned around.

Photobucket

We arrived at the park, got our Fast Passes for Expedition Everest which is one of our favorite roller coasters (I think it’s high on my list at least) and then went to watch the bird show which we’ve never seen. It would have been much more enjoyable had a certain 2yr old not been screeching as loud as the birds and complaining she was hungry the whole time. Ugh. Found what looked to be many hidden (or not so) Mickeys on the bird house wall. I love looking for Mickeys!

Photobucket

At the end you could take photos of some of the birds. I think this was my fave. It’s just a chicken but it’s a funky chicken. It reminded me of a poodle or something.

Photobucket

Disney does an excellent job on theming. The details they put into each ride are amazing. Take EE for example. This is some of what you see as you walk through the queue. Looks like you’re all ready to go looking for that Yeti!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bella- what can I saw about her but that she’s persistent. She always wants to ride everything but she doesn’t necessarily like it once she on. We were over in Dino land and she kept pointing to the Triceratops Spin. It’s like Dumbo or Aladdin at the Magic Kingdom. Basically it can go up or down and flies in one big circle. I know she doesn’t care for these rides but apparently she keeps forgetting this. I’m all for her getting to like them eventually so I took her on.

Before the ride started:

Photobucket

And once we were in the air:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Here’s yet another example of theming. This is on the Maharajah trek.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

We left AK and headed to MK hoping to see the fireworks at the least and maybe Tiana and Prince Naveen. That didn’t work out so well. The park looked slammed as Main Street was jammed with one of the mini parades and people were all getting their seats to wait for the Electrical parade and Wishes (fireworks show). We finally made our way towards Tomorrowland and got to ride Buzz Lightyear and then headed towards Toon Town. Bella wanted to stop and ride everything and I figured it was time to test her on a roller coaster. Ha! Toon Town will be closing for good very soon so I knew the Barnstormer needed to be ridden. It’s basically a toddler/small child type coaster but will fit adults. It’s maybe 30 sec. long but it’s fun. She wasn’t thrilled. She didn’t cry but she had a hold of my jacket and was gripping on like her life depended on it. I had my arm around her but I guess it wasn’t enough for her. Poor baby. LOL Made our way over to Fantasyland and rode the Teacups but by the time we made it off It’s a Small World (another ride she insisted on but likes) Wishes was just over. Of course that meant the hordes of people would be headed back to the rides or to the exit so we attempted to find Tiana. She wasn’t coming out for another 40min though and Ian was already falling asleep so we decided it was time to go.

We *thought* we missed the crowds leaving but O.M.G. were we wrong. The throngs trying to get onto the monorail were crazy so we tried for the ferry. They’ve changed that since we were there last too it seems and you have to go thru a turnstile. Yeah. I had a double stroller with a sleeping 5 yr old and I was in the wrong section. People were literally running into me trying to squeeze their way past as I was trying to quickly fold the stroller up and lift it over the turnstiles. Thankfully a man next to me helped me as dh couldn’t help. It. was. insane. We finally squeezed our way onto the boat. What a way to end the night. Bella was exhausted. If you know my child you know that she never falls asleep away from home. It’s such a rarity. So when she fell asleep in the stroller on the ferry ride back I was surprised. And believe me when I say she was fighting it all the way. We’d try to lay her down and she’d fight her way back to sitting up with her head nodding. Funny girl!

Photobucket

Hoping to do it all again this weekend! Still so much to see!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

